Justice Simon Byamukama Re-appointed as EC Boss


Photo Courtesy of Justice Simon Byamukama

Justice Simon Byamukama has been reappointed Electoral Commission Chairperson following an expiration of tenure last week.

His initial tenure together with other members expired on January 7,2024 and since then official work in their positions has been at a standstill.

The members include; Simon Byamukama Mugenyi-chairperson and Hajjati Aisha Lubega-Deputy chairpeson,-retained ,Stephen Tashobya- retained, Dr.Salie Simba , Anthony Okello , Pamela Etonu Okudi and Robert Kasule Ssebunya.
The new appointees are Makerere Political Science and Public Administration lecturer Dr. Ssimba, former Kyoga County MP, Anthony Okello and EC’s Acting Head of Administration and Pamela Etonu Okudi.

The new members of the Electoral body will be approved by Parliament’s appointment committee, chaired by the Speaker of Parliament and her Deputy.

The duties of this commission under the constitution include organizing , conducting and supervising elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *