Museveni, Tumukunde to Be Nominated First

President Yoweri Museveni and his former security minister, Lt Gen Henry Tumukunde, will be the first presidential aspirants to be nominated by Electoral Commission on Monday next week at Kyambogo University.

The Electoral Commission led by, Justice Simon Byabakama, has planned to nominate Museveni who is the flagbearer of National Resistance Movement-NRM at 10am while Lt Gen Tumukunde who is independent will be nominated at 1pm.

Museveni has been in power since 1986 and his relationship with now turned rival Tumukunde has been on and off. Tumukunde first tasted Museveni’s wrath in 2005 when he appeared on a local radio talk show and castigated those who were agitating for removal if term limits which were eventually removed.

Tumukunde was subsequently arrested, charged in military court and remanded in Luzira maximum prison. His trial in court martial last for eight years till he was sentenced to serious warning in 2013. However, Tumukunde campaigned for Museveni in 2016 and was later appointed security minister.

Museveni sacked Tumukunde on March 4, 2018 alongside, Gen Edward Kalekyeezi Kayihura, who was the Inspector General of Police. At the time of their sacking, Tumukunde and Kayihura were not seeing eye to eye and it was believed that their bickering was the reason criminals were terrorizing citizens at will. Tumukunde was in March this year arrested, charged and remanded after government learnt about his presidential ambitions.

Security forces among others Special Forces Command -SFC, Criminal Investigations Directorate- CID, Joint Ant-Terrorism Task Force-JATT and Chieftaincy of Military Intelligence –CMI raided Tumukunde’s home and offices in Kololo upscale.

Tumukunde was in September again summoned by CID director, Assistant Inspector General of Police –AIGP Grace Akullo, on allegations of holding meetings with army veterans. However, Tumukunde declined to appear before interrogation team at CID which was comprised of AIGP Akullo, crime intelligence director AIGP Chris Ddamulira, court martial prosecutor Lt Col Raphael Mugisa and Col Wandera.

Other aspirants who will be nominated on Monday after Museveni and Tumukunde include John Katumba (independent) who will be nominated at 2pm, Maj Gen Gregg Mugisha Muntu, who is the flagbearer of Alliance for National Transformation and will be nominated at 3pm while Nancy Kalemba (independent) will be nominated at 4pm.

ALSO READ: Brig. Tumukunde sentenced to serious warning